Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Braun and Ramirez Gold Love Finalists for 2012

Brewers Gold Glove Finalists
Despite missing the playoffs, the Milwaukee Brewers were happy to have not just one, but two players representing them in the final round of voting for this year's Rawlings Gold Glove Award. Outfielder Ryan Braun and third baseman Aramis Ramirez were both selected as one-of-three finalists for the annual award, which recognizes the best players of the year at their respective positions.

Braun, last year's Most Valuable Player in the National League, and the Brewers MVP this season, was in the running with the Rockies Carlos Gomez and the Braves Martin Prado, with Gomez being crowned the left field winner on Tuesday night. Ramirez was up against the Padres Chase Headley and David Wright on the Mets. Wright took home the award, his third, after winning the honor in 2007 and 2008.

Critics have called the Golden Glove a popularity contest in the past few years. And while Braun's sixth place finish in fielding percentage among left fielders in 2012 warranted his runner-up status, many have argued that Ramirez fell victim to the corruption of the voting.

With a .977 percentage, the Brewers third basemen posted the best in the league, as well of his career. Wright, meanwhile, was third in the National League for fielding percentage. Ramirez was also arguably the most improved third basemen over 2011, halving his total errors with the Brewers in 2012, despite his age and nagging questions about his past performances with the Cubs.

The losses continue the Golden Glove drought that has plagued the Brewers since the early eighties. Robin Yount was the last Milwaukee player to win the honor, in 1982 as a shortstop. George Scott, Cecil Cooper, and Sixto Lezcano are the only other Brewers to win a Golden Glove during their time with the team. Scott with a whopping five, Cooper with two, and Lezcano earning one.

No comments: